Vegetarian vibes

I think I’m turning vegetarian, I think I’m turning vegetarian, I really think so ….

One month ago, I embarked on a trip of exploration and self-searching in Vietnam and Cambodia, and decided in my sleep deprived stupor at Kuala Lumpar International Airport that I would finally give the vegetarian thing a shot while I’m away, once and for all. So that leads me to the all important question is – how did I go?

Proudly I can say that I basically went completely vegetarian, except for a few moments of beef and seafood scattered throughout the trip (less than one hand’s fingers in total in five weeks). Did I lose weight? Well no, not as much as I was hoping. Did I feel healthier? Sure did, felt a complete turnaround in how my body felt, I felt … and for lack of a better word, cleaner. And after seeing live pigs, ducks and chickens strapped to motorbikes, and huge carcasses of meat hanging at the street markets, the decision wasn’t to difficult to make.

Vietnamese vegetarian food on a table from a local place called 'Wrap N Go'

Vietnam is a haven for vegetarian and vegan eaters … it’s truly amazing the food available that’s delicious, healthy and cheap – and all meat free. In Ho Chi Minh City aka Saigon, my friend took me to an amazing vegan restaurant, it was unbelievable how much you DID NOT miss meat at all. It was so satisfying and fulfilling, meat wasn’t even considered (by me that is). I find back home that much of the vegetarian food is tasty and delicious, however I’m still left craving something else to go with it. In Vietnam, and Cambodia too, I lost that desire. Completely.

Have I kept this up since returning home? To an extent, yes I have. I have completely given up chicken and pork (though I do miss Roast Pork crackling – yum!) and only occasionally have seafood and beef. Predominantly my meals are all meat free. And I feel great. And it’s cheaper as well, which sure is nice now I’m still looking for a new job.

As someone who ate meat as a key part of most of their daily meals for the past 30 years, moving to vegetarianism was always going to be tough. But more and more people seem to be heading this way, turned off meat by more information about our factory farming processes and systems, in which the book ‘Eating Animals’ by Jonathan Safran Foers has had a key role. So what I’d like to know is this:

Have you turned to vegetarianism later in life? Did you relapse to eating meat? And do you think you can stick to this for the rest of your life?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

